The Hardy Boys series

Good Reads references 190 Hardy Boys books from 1927—2005. For an author that is a lot of books to write. Though the author, Franklin W. Dixon, is the pen name for several authors. Yet 190 books are still a lot for a book series but one to emulate if possible. I wouldn’t mind writing 190 books in a series.

It must have been popular for such a long series, but honestly, it depends on the first two or three books to set the tone and expectations for readers. If this does not work for readers, then they’ll stop reading.

I found I had enough by book two of the Hardy Boys; everything is sown up easily for a mystery book story and it’s all sanitized. Even the more interesting sounding titles came with an expectation of the kind of writing already established. Although it may be good suspense writing for children objectively speaking, millions loved it even more. I didn’t continue after book two.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.